The Last Link

Sixty-four weeks ago we started the chain, each link representing a week until the start of our sabbaticals. And on Sunday we removed the last link just before stepping out the front door one last time.

IMG_0967

The lease with the new tenants was signed, the walk through complete and just like that we were on a whopper of a vacation! And by “just like that” I mean after two years of planning, three months of looking for tenants, a month of finding a home for our cat and our chickens, four weeks of house projects and packing, and four full days of moving and deep cleaning. A lot of blood, sweat and tears went into making our upcoming adventure a reality (literally), especially in those last few days. By the last day, I was ready to tear my hair out and maybe even give up on the whole thing. I was exhausted and emotionally drained. But as we left the house, I felt a huge grin spread across my face and my shoulders drop at least an inch.

Let the year begin!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “The Last Link

  1. Dan

    I know the feeling. Enjoy! And get some sleep.

    Like

  2. John Springer

    Woohoo! I’m looking forward to following your adventure. You should maybe try keeping a journal too. I start each day with a one-page journal entry – where I am, weather, what I did yesterday. It keeps all the days from running together.

    Like

  3. Tom Madden

    All the prep just means a more successful journey. Love you both, Dad.

    Like

  4. ~jenny~

    Yippeeeee!

    Like

  5. Joy Keen

    This makes me very happy, and a little bit sad. But it is amazing you got through all those links and didn’t ever give up on the whole thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

